A printable version of the CFP is available here.

Call for Papers



16th International Conference on Supercomputing

June 22-26, 2002
New York City



Sponsored by ACM/SIGARCH



ICS is the premier international forum for the presentation of research results in high-performance computing systems. Now in its 16th year, the conference also includes invited talks, tutorials, workshops, panels, and exhibits. In 2002, the conference will be held in New York City, at Columbia University, an Ivy League school of historical importance, and one of the top educational centers in the United States. The Columbia campus houses architecturally impressive buildings (some built in the 1890's), and is only 14 minutes away from the city center by subway.

1. Submission of Papers

Papers are solicited on all aspects of research, development, and application of high-performance systems, including (but not limited to):

*   New experimental and commercial systems

*   Architectures with fine and coarse grain parallelism

*   Grid computing

*   Novel infrastructures for the Internet

*   Parallel network processors

*   Parallel I/O and storage

*   Autonomic computing

*   Ubiquitous computing

*   Embedded and power-aware computer architectures

*   Operating systems and support software

*   Restructuring and optimizing compilers

*   Program development tools

*   High-performance Java

*   Performance evaluation studies

*   Numerical or non-numerical algorithms

*   Computationally challenging scientific and e-business applications.

Papers should not exceed 6,000 words, and must be submitted electronically using the submission form available at http://www.tc.cornell.edu/ics02/. Submissions must be in pdf or postscript format.

Selected papers from the ICS'02 conference proceedings will also be published in the International Journal for Parallel Programming.

For additional information about submission procedures, please contact the Program Co-chairs Keshav Pingali (Cornell University, pingali@cs.cornell.edu) and Alex Nicolau (University of California at Irvine, nicolau@ics.uci.edu).

2. Proposals for Workshops and Tutorials

Workshop and tutorial proposals are solicited, and are due by March 15, 2002. Please contact Liviu Iftode (Rutgers University, iftode@cs.rutgers.edu) and Rajiv Gupta (University of Arizona, gupta@cs.arizona.edu) for additional details about tutorials and workshops, respectively.

3. Conference organizers

General Chair:

*   Dr. Kemal Ebcioglu
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Yorktown Heights, NY

Program Co-Chairs:

*   Prof. Keshav Pingali
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY

*   Prof. Alex Nicolau
University of California
Irvine, CA

Local arrangements chair:

*   Dr. Sam Midkiff, IBM Research

Registration chair:

*   Dr. Peng Wu, IBM Research

Finance chair:

*   Dr. Harini Srinivasan, IBM Research


*   Dr. Paul Stodghill, Cornell University

Publicity chair:

*   Prof. Eduard Ayguade, UPC Barcelona, Spain

Student advocate:

*   Dr. Gabby Silberman, IBM Ctr. for Advanced Studies

Tutorials chair:

*   Prof. Liviu Iftode, Rutgers

Workshops chair:

*   Prof. Rajiv Gupta, Arizona

Exhibits chair:

*   Prof. Lawrence Rauchwerger, Texas A&M U.

Panel organization chair:

*   Prof. Hans Zima, U. of Vienna and Caltech

Publications chair:

*   Dr. Manish Gupta, IBM Research

Program Committee:

*   Saman Amarasinghe (MIT)

*   Eduard Ayguade (UPC Barcelona)

*   Scott Baden (UCSD)

*   Martin Burtscher (Cornell)

*   Sid Chatterjee (IBM Research)

*   Alain Darte (ENS-Lyon)

*   Srinivas Devadas (MIT)

*   Kemal Ebcioglu (IBM Research)

*   Babak Falsafi (CMU)

*   Guang Gao (Delaware)

*   German Goldszmidt (IBM Research)

*   Elana Granston (TI)

*   Tony Hey (Southampton)

*   Hironori Kasahara (Waseda, Japan)

*   Ken Kennedy (Rice)

*   Sunil Kim (Korea)

*   John Kubiatowicz (Berkeley)

*   Wei Li (Intel)

*   Rajit Manohar (Cornell)

*   Alex Nicolau (UC Irvine)

*   Jason Nieh (Columbia)

*   Rod Oldehoeft (Los Alamos)

*   David Padua (Illinois)

*   Yale Patt (Austin)

*   Keshav Pingali (Cornell)

*   Constantine Polychronopoulos (Illinois)

*   Rob Schreiber (HP Labs)

*   Marc Snir (Illinois)

*   Mateo Valero (UPC Barcelona)

*   Alex Veidenbaum (UC Irvine)

*   Harry Wijshoff (Leiden)

*   Kathy Yelick (Berkeley)

4. Important Dates

*   Paper submission deadline: February 15, 2002

*   Author notification: April. 1, 2002

*   Final papers due: May 8, 2002

*   Workshop and tutorial proposals due: March 15, 2002.



Webmaster: ics02@tc.cornell.edu